Scholarships Including Historic MASBA Award

B.A.P.S. Charities

Bochasanwasi Akshar Purushottam Swaminarayan Sanstha Charities have been providing scholarships for SMSD graduating seniors for over 5 years in 4 different categories.

Below are the recipients:

  • Chaci Bush (All Around)
  • Feyisara Olagunju (Math)
  • Kyle Olivier (Community)
  • Samantha Sadeghi (Science)

Bruce Morson Neal Memorial

Awarded to a member of the SHS softball team in honor of Bruce Morson Neal who was deeply involved in founding the girls’ team and building the field.

  • Gianna Guthrie

Evangeline Paige Sudhalter Memorial

In honor of Evangeline Paige Sudhalter that her life would provide hope to the future of another and continue to make the world a better place.

Below are the inaugural recipients:

  • Kylie Bui
  • Destiny Ugo

Gorka Legacy

Given to students with a well rounded education of books and extracurricular activities and are children or grandchildren of SHS alumni who graduated between 1985 and 1990.

  • Lyndon Schaefer

Gorka Memorial

Created by SMSD alumni to honor the memory of graduate Karen Gorka and counselor Cindi Gorka who both profoundly impacted our community. Karen lost a hard-fought battle with cancer in 2006 and Cindi in 2008.

  • Makayla Ramirez

James Robert Woodfin Memorial

Established in 2018 in honor of Mr. Woodfin who was the Superintendent at SMSD from 1986-1992. He passed in 2019 and his family is committed to supporting SMSD students in their pursuit to post-secondary education.

  • Chaci Bush

James Ratcliff Memorial

Originally funded by and named the Stafford Faculty/Staff Scholarship. It was renamed in 2001 in honor of Mr. James "Jim" Ratcliff, an SMSD English teacher, coach, administrator, and school board president in order to continue his life-long pursuit of putting students first.

Below are the recipients:

  • Kyle Olivier
  • Makayla Ramirez

Mexican American School Boards Association

MASBA actively advocates at the state and federal level on issues affecting our students, providing high-quality continuing education opportunities for Texas superintendents and school board members, and with a special focus on equity issues and the closing of gaps. 

Below are the recipients (Pictured above):

  • Jasmine Martinez
  • Kyle Olivier

Michael Mesa Scholarship

Given out by Mission4Mike in honor of Coach Michael Mesa and his significant impact on many during his life and career at SMSD with a strong emphasis on athletics and higher education, especially for baseball and softball athletes. 

Below are the inaugural recipients:

  • Jasmine Camario
  • Stephanie Daniel
  • Isaiah Daniels
  • Kyle Olivier
  • Colby Prince
  • Charlyme Sampson


SMSD Education Foundation

Increasing educational opportunities for SMSD students through scholarships generated by partnerships with educators, parents, community members, businesses, and civic leaders. 

Below are the recipients:

  • Brianna Aku
  • Kylie Bui
  • Chaci Bush
  • Gabrielle Butler
  • Isaiah Daniels
  • Kristel Familar
  • Allison Gomel
  • Bryan Le
  • Jun Lee
  • Kevin Nguyen
  • Feyisara Olagunju
  • Kyle Olivier
  • Divya Paul
  • Makayla Ramirez (John Ferro Memorial)
  • J'Ana Saunders
  • Lauren Soberekon
  • Samantha Sadeghi
  • Crystal Tavarez
  • Kendalynn Thomas
  • Destiny Ugo

Please note this is not an exhaustive list of all awards given to our Seniors.