Board of Trustees for 2022

On May 16, the Stafford MSD Board of Trustees reviewed and discussed the official canvass results from the general election held earlier this month in the City of Stafford including swearing in new members and reorganizing the group. Vice President Greg Holsapple and Secretary Alicia Lacy-Castille were not elected for another term, and had an opportunity to speak about their years of service to the entire SMSD and Stafford community. 

Lacy-Castille spoke about her time on the board, "It has been my honor to serve beside each one of you. I'm definitely a changed person as a result of serving this district and serving on this board...The number 7 is the number of completion. I thank the citizens of Stafford for always supporting me."

Holsapple, who has served on the board for over 25 years, said, "It has been a great pleasure to serve the citizens of Stafford, SMSD and to serve with my fellow board members. This has been one of the best times of my life, and I will certainly miss it. But, I'm not going anywhere...I will continue to support all endeavors of the district."

The board was happy to welcome first-time trustees Suzette Thompson and Patricia “Tricia” Soza-Montelongo. Stafford Mayor Cecil Willis, and multiple City Council members and candidates were present to show their support. A reception honoring the newly elected trustees was held to celebrate their interest in serving Stafford students and the district.

After the reception, the Stafford Municipal School District Board of Trustees got down to business, including taking action to reorganize the board members. The team announced new President Manuel Hinojosa, Vice President Christopher Caldwell and Secretary Ash Hamirani.

For the first time in the district's 40-year history, there are currently 3 board members who also graduated from Stafford High School including Manuel Hinojosa, Dawn Reichling and newest member Patricia Soza-Montelongo. The final meeting of the 2021-22 academic school year is scheduled to take place on Monday, June 13.